The Historic Perkins Homestead and Mill
Nestled in the hills of the Ozark Mountains the W.O. Perkins Lumber Mill is one of true landmarks of this period. The special look of Eureka Springs was heavily influenced by the molding and trim work this mill turned out.
Perkins Mill was designed and built by Eureka’s master builder W.O. Perkins, who built the courthouse and a majority of significant historic structures in town. The buildings in the Perkins Mill Complex are designated structures on the National Register of Historic Places. The certificate signed by President William Clinton is displayed in the home.
A “Perkins House” was treasured in Eureka Springs. William Octavos Perkins came to the city in 1891 from his native Kansas. He set up business as an architect, designer and builder of houses and commercial structures. He prospered as his family grew, and he named the business W.O. Perkins and Sons, Lumber Builders. Perkins Mill on Center St. provided much of the woodwork and ornamentation of Eureka Springs homes at the turn of the 20th century. It continued as a lumberyard until the mid-1980s.
W.O. Perkins’s son, Clyde Perkins, carried on the business and constructed many Perkins structures including Mrs. Hayes’s Perkins House, 9 Prospect Ave.; The Waddell House, Ridgeway Avenue; Dr. Lassagne’s Bungalow, 21 Benton St; Dr. Tatum’s Cozy Corners; Carroll County Court House; The Stockslager House, 32 Elk St.; Dairy Spring Summer Auditorium.
The factory contains 8,520 feet of floor space, and is well equipped with machinery. All through this factory we find handsome evidences of Mr. Perkins’s skill in the cabinet maker’s art.
The Perkins Homestead today…
In the spring of 2001, Eureka Springs was named one of 12 DISTINCTIVE DESTINATIONS by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Eureka boasts the largest historical loop in the country and considers it a grand honor to daily to strive for restoration and preservation throughout.